Stanningley Primary School

Respect and Pride

Welcome back to all our children and a big THANK YOU to all the adults for your patience at the start and end of the day.

Community  »  Governors

The Governing Body of Stanningley Primary School consists of 11 members - 2 staff governors (including the Headteacher), 2 Parent Governors, 1 LEA Governors and 5 Community Governors. All Governors are appointed for a 4 year term of office. The current members are:
Mrs Julie Brewer Headteacher
Mr Alex Wibrew
Mrs Louise Travis Jones
Co - Chairs of Governors
Mr Aidan Harington Teaching Staff
Alison Ratcliffe Parent
Marrisa Wearnshaw Co opted
Mrs Gillian Howe Co Opted
Mrs Jacquie Lee LEA
Mrs Avil Morgan Co opted
Anita Wood Co opted

All parents will be advised when a vacancy becomes available and are entitled to nominate themselves for election as a Governor. 

The Chair of Governors, and also parent governors, can be contacted via  The Governing Body has overall responsibilty for all aspects of school life, including the curriculum, finance, staffing and building maintenance, although the day-to-day running of the school is the responsibilty of the Headteacher. One important role of the Governing Body is to challenge and support the Head and staff.

I am extremely proud of this school, its’ pupils, staff and families. The Stanningley Primary School community should feel like an extended family, everyone within our community should feel looked after. The emphasis placed on emotional intelligence and well-being means our children are ready and motivated to learn and succeed. This is Mrs Brewer’s second year as head at Stanningley. She leads the school very well and has augmented a strong, settled and professional culture in the school. The governing body take great pleasure in supporting the school and we are determined that this academic year 2018-2019 will be a brilliant experience for all involved with the school. If you would like to share some great news or share something that is not going so well, please, get in touch via On behalf of the governing body, I wish you every success for this year at Stanningley Primary School.

Alex Wibrew
Chair of Governors